More About CogAT4Achiever

The latest version of CogAT is Form 8. The test can be taken online or paper-and-pencil. It is a time-based test with 2-3 hours duration and narrow time slot of 30-45 minutes. The CogAT exam consists of three sections termed as batteries: the Verbal Battery, the Quantitative Battery, and Nonverbal Battery. These three batteries may be administered separately or together. Scores are calculated or reported independently for every category. The test is planned and designed in a manner that a non-native English speakers can also opt for it.

Batteries And Their Test Areas

Verbal Quantitative Non Verbal
Picture/Verbal Analogies
16 Questions
Number Analogies
16 Questions
Figure Matrices
16 Questions
Sentence Completion
16 Questions
Number Series
12 Questions
Figure Classification
12 Questions
Picture/Verbal Classification
16 Questions
Number Puzzles
16 Questions
Paper Folding
16 Questions
1Verbal Battery
This section consists of three subtests picture/verbal analogies, sentence completion, and picture/verbal classification. This test is used to determine the student’s vocabulary, analytical proficiency, verbal memory, and understand word relationships.
2Quantitative Battery
This section is used to determine the student’s problem-solving skills. This test comprises of subtests like number analogies, number series, and number puzzles.
3Non-Verbal Battery
This section is used to determine the student’s reasoning abilities. This test comprises of subtests like figure matrices, figure classification, and paper folding.

Most Common Grades and Levels

Grade CogAT Test Level
Kindergarten Level 5/6
1st Grade Level 7
2nd Grade Level 8
3rd Grade Level 9
4th Grade Level 10
5th Grade Level 11
6th Grade Level 12
7th - 8th Grade Level 13/14
9th - 10th Grade Level 15/16
11th - 12th Grade Level 17/18

Want to take a test then click on below button.

How To Identify Which Level Test To Take?

A student should check with the school staff to know which level test to opt. Students can take an above grade level test or below grade level test depending on whether schools are administering for highly gifted students or beginner level.

Where To Take The CogAT Test?

The CogAT is conducted in metropolitan areas across the United States having the highest concentration of parents who are looking forward to preparing their children for such a cognitive test. Major areas that administer the CogAT include Chicago, San Antonia, Baltimore, North Carolina, South Carolina, Dallas-Fort Worth, Atlanta, Seattle, Washington DC, Minneapolis and Houston.

Latest Form 8

CogAT Form 8 was released in 2018 by Houghton Mifflin Company. Difference between form 7 and Form 8 is in Form8 the content is fresh, supports test security, and has few enhanced changes made in form 8. The similarity is there are nine test areas like that of Form 7.

Who owns CogAT?

CogAT is a registered trademark of Houghton Mifflin Company. The Cognitive Abilities Test (CogAT) is owned and published by Houghton Mifflin Company. Houghton Mifflin Company does not involve any third party in the production or endorsement of any such practice test.